Understanding the Privacy Features

Understanding Privacy Features

Burner comes equipped with a number of features that help protect your privacy.

"Press 1 to accept this call"

We reroute calls coming to your Burner and send them to your cell phone so your personal phone number stays private. This is why it looks like your Burner is calling you when you receive a call, and why it looks like you are calling your Burner when you dial out.

If someone calls your Burner and you don't answer, the call goes to your Burner voicemail. If you do answer, you'll hear “Press 1 to accept this call." Pressing 1 puts the call through to you. This functionality acts as a barrier that prevents callers from hitting your personal number's voicemail.

Login verification code

Each time you sign in to Burner, a verification code is sent to your account number, so no one can log into your account unless they have the device that is associated with your main cell phone number. 

"Passcode Lock"

You can choose to enable a Passcode lock on the app so that you have to enter a four-digit code (or use TouchID) each time you open the app—that way your Burner lines are protected.

Learn more about how Passcode Lock works.

"Do Not Disturb" Mode

For extra privacy, you can turn on "Do Not Disturb" or DND, which temporarily blocks incoming calls and texts, and mutes notifications until you turn it off.

Learn more about how DND works.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Support Contact Support