Using the privacy lock feature

The brand new redesign of Burner features one of our most requested features: a way to lock the app! This awesome feature allows your conversations and information to be more secure than ever, and is really simple to us.

To set up the lock, simply tap on the lock icon in the upper right corner of the page.

Burner pin lock feature


Once you confirm that you want to lock by tapping the orange "Lock" button, you will be prompted to type in a pin lock or use Touch ID. If you use a pin, you will be prompted to re-enter it. After entering it again correctly the second time, tap the "Lock" button on the top right of the screen, and the privacy lock will be activated. Now if you exit the app, you will be prompted to enter your pin once you open Burner again.

Burner lock confirm


Touch ID privacy lock Burner


In order to remove the lock, just tap on the lock icon in the top right again. You can either do a temporary unlock (i.e: for 30 minutes), or a permanent one. You can always re-lock using the steps described above.




If you forget your pin, you'll have to delete and reinstall the app. Upon reinstalling, you will have to log in with your Apple ID and password again, so others won't be able to get around your pin lock by doing this.