I am using Burner on Android. Yesterday, Burner started flooding the phone with old messages that had already been received.This happened once before, as well.
Is this a known problem? Is there something that needs to be done to prevent it?
My first thought was to reinstall the app, but I want to make sure I don't lose my subscribed phone numbers. The article on reinstalling Burner contains the following warning:
Note: Be sure that you have synced your phone since you purchased Burner
Make sure the phone has been synced with what? The phone is not synced with a Gmail account because of repeated email hacking issues and I am trying to avoid having the Burner numbers exposed if someone accesses the email account.
It sounds like maybe you had a drop off in your data connection and when it came back you got a bunch of old messages. This can happen if the client is getting the information from the server for any reason, but it's actually good because it means you still have all of your history.
When we talk about syncing purchases, we're referring to how Apple handles transactions and syncing back with Apple so you are not charged again. It's possible they don't function like that anymore, but we've seen people lose purchases and get charged again if they didn't sync their device with iTunes first. It hasn't come up for a long while though, so you should be fine without syncing it.
This question has received the maximum number of answers.