Understanding the Privacy Features

Burner comes equipped with a number of features that help protect your privacy.

"Press 1 to accept this call"

We reroute calls coming to your Burner and send them to your cell phone so your personal phone number stays private. This is why it looks like your Burner is calling you when you receive a call, and why it looks like you are calling your Burner when you dial out.

If someone calls your Burner and you don't answer, the call goes to your Burner voicemail. If you do answer, you'll hear “press 1 to accept this call." Pressing 1 puts the call through to you. This functionality acts like a barrier that prevents callers from hitting your personal number's voicemail.

Login verification code

Each time you sign in to Burner, a verification code is sent to your account number, so no one can log into your account unless they also have the device with which your account number is associated.

"PIN Lock" for your device

You can choose to enable a PIN lock on the app so that you have to enter a four-digit code (or use TouchID) each time you open the app—that way your Burner lines are protected.

Learn more about how PIN Lock works.

"Do Not Disturb" mode

For extra privacy, you can turn on "Do Not Disturb" or DND, which temporarily blocks incoming calls and texts, and mutes notifications until you turn it off.

Learn more about how DND works.

Ghostbot Connection

Burner is the only second phone number app with Ghostbot, an intelligent SMS bot that can handle your unwanted texts for you.

Learn more about how it works at Ghostbot.burnerapp.com, and enable it from within the app.