Burning and Expirations

There are two ways you can get rid of a phone number you made with Burner: You can Burn it yourself, or you can let it expire.

Burning Numbers

Any phone number you create in Burner can be Burned—deleted—at any time.



When you Burn a number, all history is erased with it. The phone number is then monitored to determine when it can be put back into the queue of available Burners.

Learn more about how to Burn a Number.

Expirations

Subscription numbers auto-renew, and will never expire unless a payment fails. If a payment fails (e.g. a credit card expires), you'll get a notice and 7 days to renew your payment method before the Burner is deleted.

Prepaid Burners, however, have expiration dates attached to them and will be deleted after that date if not manually extended.

To find the expiration date of an active Burner, go to the Settings of your Burner by clicking the gear icon at the bottom of the screen.

You can use the  "Extend" button here to keep your phone number going. As long as you extend before the expiration date, your number will never expire.

The Burner app will notify you in advance of any expiration, so you don't have to worry about keeping track.